Is Hummus Paleo

Is Hummus Paleo? To keep it short, No. The simple reason is that Hummus is made from Chickpeas (also known as Garbanzo Beans) and are classified as Legumes. Legumes such as Chickpeas, Peanuts, Lentils etc are not allowed on and as a result, Hummus is not a Paleo friendly food (Check out my list of foods not allowed on the Paleo diet).

No need to worry though, there are still alternatives. Listed below are three Paleo Hummus recipes. They are so good that you would just not believe that it is not actual Hummus. Try one or two of them out and see which one appeals to you.

Here they are listed by the main replacement ingredient:

  1. Eggplant – http://www.instructables.com/id/Paleo-Friendly-Hummus/
  2. Cauliflower – http://livinpaleocuisine.com/2013/02/05/paleo-hummus/
  3. Zucchini – http://libidiny.blogspot.com/2010/08/there-have-been-many-times-since-began.html

Be first to comment